About the George Donnell Davidson Roundtable


The George Donnell Davidson Roundtable was established in 1967 at Warren Wilson College through a generous gift by Mr. And Mrs. George Donnell Davidson, Jr., of Charlotte, NC, to honor Mr. Davidson’s father, George Donnell Davidson, Warren Wilson College class of 1902.

The G.D. Davidson Roundtable was endowed to honor the memory of this remarkable Christian businessman, whose family was among the first group of settlers to establish home sites in the Swannanoa Valley.  Warren Wilson College still resides on some of the Davidson family’s original farmland.

The Roundtable brings to the campus Christian business, civic or religious leaders nominated by a committee of faculty, staff and students, and invited by the College President.  These leaders are known as Davidson Roundtable Fellows.

Davidson Fellows are selected because of preeminence in their fields, and reflection in their lives and careers of the concept of “Christian vocation” in business, industry, philanthropy, or humanitarian service.  The purpose of the Roundtable is to facilitate the sharing of a Fellow’s life story, including lessons learned from disappointments and failures, as well as successes.  The usual format includes a formal presentation followed by an informal discussion.


Past G. D. Davidson Fellows

1990 John Kuykendall Churchman, Scholar, and past President of
Davidson College
1992 Price Gwynn, III Moderator of 202nd General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Businessman
1994 Frederick Buechner Writer & Philosopher
1995 James A. Forbes, Jr. Pastor of Riverside Church, New York City
1996 Glenda B. Hope Director of San Francisco Network Ministries
1997 Hugh Morton Environmental Spokesman
1998 Parker Palmer Writer, Teacher, Activist
1999 Roger Wilkins Former Assistant US Attorney General, currently Professor, George Mason University
2000 Freda Gardner Moderator of 211th General Assembly of The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), retired Professor of Princeton Theological Seminary
2001 David Shi Author, Scholar, Historian, President of
Furman University
2002 Harvey Gantt Architect, Political & Civil Rights Activist,
former Mayor of Charlotte,
Candidate for U.S. Senate (1990 & 1996)
2003 Joyce Hollyday Activist, Author, Feminist Theologian,
Minister in the United Church of Christ
2004 Marcus Borg Biblical & Jesus Scholar; Author, Hundere Distinguished Professor of Religion & Culture at Oregon State University
2005 Mark Mathabane Author of 6 books, including the acclaimed Kaffir Boy
2006 Hodding Carter, III Award-winning Journalist & Commentator, currently University Professor of Leadership & Public Policy at UNC-Chapel Hill
2007 Sylvia Earle

Deep Sea Explorer, Oceanographer, Conservationist, Inventor, Author, Environmental Activist

2008 Dr. Robert Vagt Chair of Heinz Endowments, former Davidson College President